What’s the easiest way to migrate to Australia?

You are currently viewing What’s the easiest way to migrate to Australia?

To fuel the dreams of every skilled foreign work, Australia’s General Skilled Migration (GSM) visa is created by the government to offer an easy and quick pathway to apply for PR visa. After all, Australia is in a constant need of capable individuals who can support the economy.

The General Skilled Migration visa is designed to meet the needs of those skilled applicants who have a desire to live and work in Australia. Under GSM, the skilled professionals or workers demonstrate their qualification, experience and expertise to qualify for Australia migration.

For every applicant, it is compulsory to go through Skill Select, which involves two key steps, i.e. submit an EOI (Expression of Interest) and final visa application with documentation.

The General Skilled Migration Program of Australia is categorized under two streams, i.e. a Point Tested Stream and an Employer Sponsored Stream.

Migrating to Australia through Point Tested Skilled Migration Visa Subclasses

In order to immigrate to Australia from India, you can choose the visa subclasses that fall under Point Tested GSM visa category.

There are three key permanent GSM visa subclasses:

Skilled Independent Visa Subclass 189

This visa subclass 189 is designed by the government to invite skilled workers and New Zealand citizens who have the right skills, to live and work anywhere in Australia on a permanent basis.

Being a visa subclass 189 holder, you can work and study in Australia and can sponsor your eligible relatives for permanent residency.

Moreover, you can also apply for Australian citizenship once you meet the eligibility criteria for the same.

To be eligible to apply for this visa subclass, you must:

  • Get an invitation to apply (ITA)
  • Age below 45 years to get an invitation to apply
  • Nominate an occupation mentioned on the relevant SOL (skilled occupation list)
  • Complete a positive skill assessment
  • Satisfy the minimum points test requirements

Skilled Nominated Visa Subclass 190

In order to be eligible to apply for this visa subclass 190, you must have been nominated by an Australian state or territory government. Once you become visa 190 holder, then you can live and work permanently in Australia as a nominated skilled worker and can travel to and from Australia for up to 5 years.

To begin the process, you have to submit your completed expression of interest in Skill Select that will be reviewed by a State and territory government agency so that they can nominate you for this visa subclass 190.

Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa Subclass 491

Introduced on 16th November 2019, this new visa subclass 491 has replaced the 2 year temporary Visa Subclass 489. This newly introduced visa subclass is a 5-year long provisional visa designed for those skilled workers who are either nominated by a state or territory government or sponsored by an eligible relative living in Australia.

Once you reside in Australia for 5 years being a Visa Subclass 491 holder, you become eligible to apply for permanent residency through Visa Subclass 191 (to come into effect from November 2022).

To be eligible to apply for this visa subclass, you must:

  • Have a nomination to apply by an Australian state or territory government agency, or a sponsorship by an eligible relative living in regional Australia
  • Nominate an occupation on a relevant SOL
  • Have a positive suitable skills assessment for the nominated occupation
  • Have an invitation to apply
  • Meet the points test requirements

The above explained three visa subclasses under GSM program are the most popular and easiest ways through which you can immigrate to Australia from India as a skilled worker in 2020.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments